LibGuides: Engineering: Civil and Environmental Engineering

Online Resources

Recommended Online Databases

ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) This link opens in a new window
The ASCE Library is the world’s largest full-text database of civil engineering research and practical publications.
It offers unprecedented online access to more than 145,000 technical and professional papers—1.5 million pages of content. More than 7,000 papers are added annually.
Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides unmatched discipline-specific coverage spanning thousands of publications, many in full text.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer.
Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. in all instances.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
This database is a definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences.
With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text. Search over 2.7M records, dating back to the mid 1980s.
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
Providing over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
The Environmental Science Database is a cross-disciplinary resource of full-text content of global literature across this field and related disciplines.
It provides the most complete collection of resources available to support research and learning in environmental science and related fields. Content is selected from several specialist topic resources in disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology, and biology.
Materials Science Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides unmatched discipline-specific coverage spanning thousands of publications, many in full text.
American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals This link opens in a new window
The American Chemical Society is one of the leading publishers of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences.
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection This link opens in a new window
Science Direct is a platform for accessing scientific journals from Elsevier. These are mainly journals in the fields of medicine, science, mathematics, computer technology, but also economics, business and management, psychology and social sciences, and others.
Users have access to full texts of journals from the Freedom Collection, which is the vast majority of all journals in the Science Direct platform (in total, over 2300 journal titles are included in the Freedom Collection).
Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
Emerald Full-text is a collection of over 42.000 articles from over 100 of the most prestigious management journals, complete with full text archives back to 1994 and abstracts back to 1989
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and Arts & Humanities.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
This Database provides millions of quality, peer-reviewed journal articles in multi-speciality subjects that are published under the Taylor & Francis and Routledge imprints.
T&F User Guide
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Hosting one of the world's most extensive multidisciplinary collections of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
Wiley Online Library delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1,500 journals, 9,000 books, and hundreds of multi-volume reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
Springer Link eBook This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink eBook Collection is a comprehensive central database covers a wide spectrum of subject disciplines in science, technology and medicine (STM).
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

Other Helpful Databases / Tools

ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest curated collection of journals, ebooks, dissertations, news, video and primary sources, all in one place.
With ProQuest One Academic, four core multi-disciplinary products – ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global– are now available and cross-searchable on the same user-friendly, responsive, mobile-enabled ProQuest platform.

Coverage: 1970 - current
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.
The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
JCR - Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Journal Citation Reports offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data.
By compiling articles' cited references, JCR helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals. Available in Science and Social Sciences editions.
JoVE - Journal of Visualized Experiments This link opens in a new window
JoVE is the worlds first and only peer-reviewed scientific video journal that publishes videos of scientific experiments from top laboratories around the globe
Oxford University Press - Journals This link opens in a new window
Oxford University Press (OUP) publishes over 300 journals in the humanities, social sciences, law, science, and medicine,
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher that includes more than 900 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.
Science Magazine This link opens in a new window
Science is a leading outlet for scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research.
Through its print and online incarnations, Science reaches an estimated worldwide readership of more than one million. Sciences authorship is global too, and its articles consistently rank among the world's most cited research
RCL This link opens in a new window
The Resources for College Libraries database is designed to connect high-quality titles to higher education institutions, all in an easy-to-use, responsive interface.

eBooks and Dissertations

eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebrary / Ebook Central is an online multidisciplinary library, of more than 130.000 e-books the world's most prestigious academic, STM, and professional publishers.
Viewers can browse titles by main subjects, or perform a full-text search across thousands of e-books in the database, read the books online, add notes, highlight texts and save them within a personal virtual "Bookshelf'.
eBook Collection (Ebsco Host) This link opens in a new window
A database that contains all of the full text eBooks that university purchases from EBSCO, including eBooks from eBook Subscription Collections, as well as single eBook titles.
Proquest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) This link opens in a new window
Is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. It includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world
From 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
Springer Link eBook This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink eBook Collection is a comprehensive central database covers a wide spectrum of subject disciplines in science, technology and medicine (STM).
University of Sharjah Dissertation & Theses Database This link opens in a new window
محرك بحث الرسائل الجامعية من جامعة الشارقة الذي يضم اكثرمن 2300 رسالة جامعية

Core Journals

Civil Engineering
Environmental Engineering
Ocean Engineering
Operations Research
Transportation Engineering
Applied Mathematics
Applied Physics
Engineering - General
Technology - General
Biomedical Engineering

Essential Books

More Essential Books...

Advanced Search Tools

Advanced Search Tools
JCR
Scopus
RefWorks
Ulrich's Web
RCL

Online Tutorials

Contact us

Got a question ?, or you have a request ?, you may reach us on the following channels.

	065053851
	library@sharjah.ac.ae
	UOS Libraries Location Map

Engineering: Civil and Environmental Engineering

Search Resources

Find E-Journals

Search the Catalog

Google Scholar

Online Resources

Recommended Online Databases

Other Helpful Databases / Tools

eBooks and Dissertations

Core Journals

Essential Books

Advanced Search Tools

Online Tutorials

Contact us