LibGuides: English Language and Literature: English Language and Literature

Online Resources

Recommended Online Databases

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text

The MLA International Bibliography with Full Text combines the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film with full text for more than 1,000 journals.

Including many of the leading publications in these fields. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA) and international in scope, the bibliography covers scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present, including journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography.
Arts & Humanities Database
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.
Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer.

Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. in all instances.
SAGE Journals
SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher that includes more than 900 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.
Scopus

Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and Arts & Humanities.

Other Helpful Databases / Tools

ProQuest One Academic
The world’s largest curated collection of journals, ebooks, dissertations, news, video and primary sources, all in one place.

With ProQuest One Academic, four core multi-disciplinary products – ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global– are now available and cross-searchable on the same user-friendly, responsive, mobile-enabled ProQuest platform.

Coverage: 1970 - current
Academic Search Ultimate

Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.

The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
JCR - Journal Citation Reports

Journal Citation Reports offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data.

By compiling articles' cited references, JCR helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals. Available in Science and Social Sciences editions.
Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer.

Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. in all instances.

eBooks and Dissertations

eBook Central
Ebrary / Ebook Central is an online multidisciplinary library, of more than 130.000 e-books the world's most prestigious academic, STM, and professional publishers.

Viewers can browse titles by main subjects, or perform a full-text search across thousands of e-books in the database, read the books online, add notes, highlight texts and save them within a personal virtual "Bookshelf'.
eBook Collection (Ebsco Host)

A database that contains all of the full text eBooks that university purchases from EBSCO, including eBooks from eBook Subscription Collections, as well as single eBook titles.
Proquest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT)

Is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. It includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world

From 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
Springer Link eBook
SpringerLink eBook Collection is a comprehensive central database covers a wide spectrum of subject disciplines in science, technology and medicine (STM).
University of Sharjah Dissertation & Theses Database

محرك بحث الرسائل الجامعية من جامعة الشارقة الذي يضم اكثرمن 3000 رسالة جامعية