LibGuides: Health Sciences: Medical Laboratory Sciences

Online Resources

Recommended Online Databases

ACP Journals (Evidence Based Medicine Reviews) This link opens in a new window
ACP Journal Club (ACP) is part of Ovid's Evidence Based Medicine Reviews collection
It consists of two journals, ACP Journal Club, a publication of the American College of Physicians, and Evidence-Based Medicine, a joint publication of the American College of Physicians and the British Medical Journal Group. ACP Journal Club includes studies which ACP's editors have selected as methodologically sound and clinically relevant. The editors screen the top clinical journals for articles, and write enhanced abstracts and commentary on the study's value, helping clinicians to quickly understand and apply to their practice important changes in medical knowledge, without having to read and synthesize thousands of journal articles.

ACP includes bi-directional links with Ovid MEDLINE and Ovid Full text.

ACP Journal Club contains the complete contents of the database dating back to 1991. In January of 2000, ACP Journal Club and Evidence-Based Medicine merged and, as of that date, all new content is listed as coming from the ACP Journal Club. The Evidence-Based Medicine Table of Contents is maintained for issues prior to 2000.
McGraw-Hill Access Medicine This link opens in a new window
McGraw-Hill Access Medicine is an innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 60 medical titles from the best minds in medicine
Updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to download content to a mobile device.
Cochrane Library - Evidence Based Medicine Reviews This link opens in a new window
The Cochrane Library consists of a Regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases. It is a unique source of reliable and up-to date information on the effects of interventions in health care.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus® with Full Text is a robust collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®.
This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. Full text coverage dates back to 1937.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
UpToDate is an electronic information resource available where physicians can get specific, detailed answers to their clinical questions from the office, exam room or bedside.
Clinical Key This link opens in a new window
ClinicalKey, the world's first clinical insight engine, is the fastest and most trusted way to search for relevant clinical information.
ClinicalKey is the new generation smart search engine that can help you improve patient care.
OVID This link opens in a new window
Ovid helps researchers, librarians, clinicians, and other healthcare professionals find important medical information so that they can make critical decisions to improve patient care, enhance ongoing research, and fuel new discoveries.
DynaMed Plus This link opens in a new window
DynaMed is an Evidence Based Medicine and a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'.
IEEEXplore This link opens in a new window
IEEEXplore is a digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
It contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transaction, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, and standards.
MEDLINE (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals.
Nursing Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.
BMJ - British Medical Journal This link opens in a new window
The BMJ is one of the world's oldest general medical journals.
It published its first weekly edition on 3 October 1840 as the Provincial Medical and Surgical Journal before uniting with the London Journal of Medicine and publishing from January 1853 as the Associated Medical Journal.
BioMedCentral BMC This link opens in a new window
BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.
JAMA - The Journal of the American Medical Association This link opens in a new window
JAMA is a peer-reviewed medical journal published 48 times a year by the American Medical Association. It publishes original research, reviews, and editorials covering all aspects of bio-medicine.
NEJM - New England Journal of Medicine Access This link opens in a new window
The worlds leading medical journal and website. Published continuously for over 200 years, NEJM delivers high-quality, peer-reviewed research and interactive clinical content to physicians, educators, and the global medical community.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus, the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences and Arts & Humanities.

Other Helpful Databases / Tools

AMBOSS This link opens in a new window
AMBOSS is created by a team of physicians and clinicians. it is a better way to study by providing Smart Study Medical Questions Bank and Answers
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest curated collection of journals, ebooks, dissertations, news, video and primary sources, all in one place.
With ProQuest One Academic, four core multi-disciplinary products – ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global– are now available and cross-searchable on the same user-friendly, responsive, mobile-enabled ProQuest platform.

Coverage: 1970 - current
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.
The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
JCR - Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Journal Citation Reports offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data.
By compiling articles' cited references, JCR helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals. Available in Science and Social Sciences editions.
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
SAGE is the world's 5th largest journals publisher that includes more than 900 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 400 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.
RCL This link opens in a new window
The Resources for College Libraries database is designed to connect high-quality titles to higher education institutions, all in an easy-to-use, responsive interface.
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection This link opens in a new window
Science Direct is a platform for accessing scientific journals from Elsevier. These are mainly journals in the fields of medicine, science, mathematics, computer technology, but also economics, business and management, psychology and social sciences, and others.
Users have access to full texts of journals from the Freedom Collection, which is the vast majority of all journals in the Science Direct platform (in total, over 2300 journal titles are included in the Freedom Collection).
Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer.
Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. in all instances.
Publicly Available Content Database This link opens in a new window
Designed to complement other databases and collections, this database brings together or links to full text for publicly available scholarly content from a number of different sources from around the world.
It includes content from major subject repositories such as arXiv as well as open access journals. Content includes journal articles, pre-prints, books, conference papers and reports.

eBooks and Dissertations

eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebrary / Ebook Central is an online multidisciplinary library, of more than 130.000 e-books the world's most prestigious academic, STM, and professional publishers.
Viewers can browse titles by main subjects, or perform a full-text search across thousands of e-books in the database, read the books online, add notes, highlight texts and save them within a personal virtual "Bookshelf'.
eBook Collection (Ebsco Host) This link opens in a new window
A database that contains all of the full text eBooks that university purchases from EBSCO, including eBooks from eBook Subscription Collections, as well as single eBook titles.
Proquest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) This link opens in a new window
Is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. It includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world
From 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
Springer Link eBook This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink eBook Collection is a comprehensive central database covers a wide spectrum of subject disciplines in science, technology and medicine (STM).
University of Sharjah Dissertation & Theses Database This link opens in a new window
محرك بحث الرسائل الجامعية من جامعة الشارقة الذي يضم اكثرمن 2300 رسالة جامعية