Skip to Main Content

Shari‘ah and Islamic Studies: Sharia & Law

Online Resources

Recommended Online Databases

Other Helpful Databases / Tools

eBooks and Dissertations

Recommended Online Databases

International Journal of Islamic Architecture This link opens in a new window
The International Journal of Islamic Architecture (IJIA) is intended for those interested in urban design and planning, architecture, and landscape design in the historic Islamic world, encompassing the Middle East and parts of Africa and Asia, but also the more recent geographies of Islam in its global dimensions. The main emphasis is on detailed analysis of the practical, historical and theoretical aspects of architecture, with a focus on both design and its reception. The journal is also specifically interested in contemporary architecture and urban design in relation to social and cultural history, geography, politics, aesthetics, technology, and conservation. Spanning across cultures and disciplines, IJIA seeks to analyze and explain issues related to the built environment throughout the regions covered. The cross-cultural and interdisciplinary nature of this journal will significantly contribute to the knowledge in this field.
Dar Al Manduma - دار المنظومة This link opens in a new window
Dar Almanduma's six large databases include the vast majority of Arab magazines and scientific journals in full text
As well as conferences and seminars. Moreover, Dar ALManduma network includes a specialized database for Arabic theses, which is considered the reference to the Arab scholars in all the sciences and academic disciplines. More than (70.000) seventy thousand scientific theses from various Arab universities, (30,000) thirty thousand of them are in full-text.
Al Manhal - المنهل This link opens in a new window
Al Manhal is the worlds only provider of full-text searchable databases of thousands of eBooks, eJournals, eTheses, strategic reports, and conference proceedings from the Arab and Islamic worlds. .
Arab World Research Source - مصدر أبحاث العالم العربي This link opens in a new window
Arab World Research Source is a dedicated resource of scholarly journals, quality magazines, trade publications, industry profiles, country reports, market research reports and conference papers related to the Arab World.
This resource reaches across all major subject disciplines, including business, economics, science, technology, humanities and sociology. The database contains more than 140 scholarly full text titles, with the majority of the journals featuring Arabic full text.
Arabic Articles By University of Sharjah Libraries This link opens in a new window
قاعدة بيانات المقالات العربية من مكتبات جامعة الشارقة
طور فريق قسم تكنولوجيا المعلومات في مكتبات جامعة الشارقة محرك بحث يساعد الباحثين للوصول ألكثر من 35,000 مقال من مختلف المجالت العربية المتوفرة على أرفف المكتبات منذ عام 1999م وحتى تاريخة
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This database features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
It is designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM.
Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Religion Database provides a wide range of primarily full-text periodicals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies.
Covering formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. As well as scholarly journals there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion. Coverage: 1986 - current

Other Helpful Databases / Tools

ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest curated collection of journals, ebooks, dissertations, news, video and primary sources, all in one place.
With ProQuest One Academic, four core multi-disciplinary products – ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global– are now available and cross-searchable on the same user-friendly, responsive, mobile-enabled ProQuest platform.

Coverage: 1970 - current
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.
The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
JCR - Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Journal Citation Reports offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data.
By compiling articles' cited references, JCR helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals. Available in Science and Social Sciences editions.
Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer.
Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. in all instances.
Arabic Collections Online (ACO) - المجموعات العربية على الانترنِت This link opens in a new window
لمجموعات العربية على الانترنِت هي عبارة عن مكتبة عامة رقميَّة للكتب المؤلَّفة باللغة العربية والتي أصبحت في المجال العام. حالياً.
هذا المشروع يوفّر إمكانيّة الولوج الإلكتروني إلى 12,795 كتاباً في اكثر من 7,466 موضوعاً مُستَمداً من مجموعات قيّمة في مكتبات مميَّزة. تأسست بدعم من جامعة نيويورك أبوظبي وتدعمها حاليًا المنح الكبرى من أركاديا ، وهي صندوق خيري لشركة ليسبت راوزينج وبيتر بالدوين ، وشركة كارنيجي في نيويورك. يهدف مشروع الرقمنة هذا إلى عرض ما يصل إلى 23,000 مجلد من مجموعات مكتبة جامعة نيويورك والمؤسسات الشريكة

Arabic Collections Online (ACO) is a publicly available digital library of public domain Arabic language content. ACO currently provides digital access to 12,795 volumes across 7,466 subjects drawn from rich Arabic collections of distinguished research libraries. Established with support from NYU Abu Dhabi, and currently supported by major grants from Arcadia, a charitable fund of Lisbet Rausing and Peter Baldwin, and Carnegie Corporation of New York, this mass digitization project aims to feature up to 23,000 volumes from the library collections of NYU and partner institutions.
CIHRS - Cairo Institute for Human Rights Study This link opens in a new window
مركز القاهرة لدراسات حقوق الإنسان هو منظمة غير حكومية إقليمية مستقلة تأسست عام 1993، تهدف إلى دعم احترام مبادئ حقوق الإنسان والديمقراطية، وتحليل صعوبات تطبيق القانون الدولي لحقوق الإنسان
، ونشر ثقافة حقوق الإنسان في العالم العربي، وتعزيز الحوار بين الثقافات في إطار الاتفاقيات والمواثيق الدولية لحقوق الإنسان. ومن أجل تحقيق هذه الأهداف يعمل المركز على اقتراح والدعوة إلى سياسات وتشريعات وتعديلات دستورية تعزز من المعايير الدولية لحقوق الإنسان، والقيام بأنشطة بحثية، ودعوية عبر توظيف مختلف الآليات الوطنية والإقليمية والدولية، وتعليم حقوق الإنسان مع التركيز بشكل خاص على الشباب، وبناء القدرات المهنية للمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان. ومنذ تأسيسه يقوم المركز بشكل منتظم بنشر كتب و دوريات تتناول قضايا حقوق الإنسان والديمقراطية في العالم العربي.
Oxford University Press - Journals This link opens in a new window
Oxford University Press (OUP) publishes over 300 journals in the humanities, social sciences, law, science, and medicine,

eBooks and Dissertations

eBook Arabic Collection - مجموعة الكتب الإلكترونية العربية This link opens in a new window
This database is one of the multi EBSCO services which enables you to find Arabic eBooks through different search options, and view them in full-text format. .
Al Manhal - المنهل This link opens in a new window
Al Manhal is the worlds only provider of full-text searchable databases of thousands of eBooks, eJournals, eTheses, strategic reports, and conference proceedings from the Arab and Islamic worlds. .
University of Sharjah Dissertation & Theses Database This link opens in a new window
محرك بحث الرسائل الجامعية من جامعة الشارقة الذي يضم اكثرمن 2300 رسالة جامعية
eBook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebrary / Ebook Central is an online multidisciplinary library, of more than 130.000 e-books the world's most prestigious academic, STM, and professional publishers.
Viewers can browse titles by main subjects, or perform a full-text search across thousands of e-books in the database, read the books online, add notes, highlight texts and save them within a personal virtual "Bookshelf'.
eBook Collection (Ebsco Host) This link opens in a new window
A database that contains all of the full text eBooks that university purchases from EBSCO, including eBooks from eBook Subscription Collections, as well as single eBook titles.
Proquest Dissertations and Theses (PQDT) This link opens in a new window
Is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. It includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world
From 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
Springer Link eBook This link opens in a new window
SpringerLink eBook Collection is a comprehensive central database covers a wide spectrum of subject disciplines in science, technology and medicine (STM).
Encyclopedia Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Database Brochure

The Award-Winning Online Encyclopedia Used by More than 20 Million People the new user-friendly interface provides more organized and richer results.
Additional features including news headlines, safe web sites, engaging multimedia, and custom work-space make Encyclopedia Britannica Online Academic Edition the comprehensive resource your users need.

Core Journals

Essential Books

Advanced Search Tools

Advanced Search Tools
JCR
Scopus
RefWorks
Ulrich's Web
RCL

Online Tutorials

Contact Us

Got a question ?, or you have a request ?, you may reach us on the following channels.

	065053851
	library@sharjah.ac.ae
	UOS Libraries Location Map